One of My Ears Is Higher Than The Other

student success

2006-01-27

This semester I am teaching beginner ESL again. In my class, I have a student who failed last semester and is now repeating my class. This isn't as bad as it sounds, and actually he's quite happy to be repeating it, as he had a rough start last semester and it took him a while to get adjusted and be able to start learning. Anyway, I can't get over the difference--last semester he was really stressed out and this semester he's much more relaxed and doing a lot better.

However, it has recently come to my attention that he may have some kind of hearing problem. I'm not sure what to do but am trying to get help with some assessment and support for him and for me, so I can teach him more effectively. Teaching a language to a hearing-impaired student is a challenge.

Anyway, at the beginning of the semester I collect writing samples from the students to see what level they're at after a couple of weeks when they've learned some vocab and grammatical structures. Here is a comparison of this student's writing from three weeks into last semester, and from three weeks into this semester. By no means is his writing perfect now, but it's improved tremendously. The first writing sample lapses into beat poetry at some points and, in the third paragraph, devolves into an incomprehensible string of seemingly random words; the second is a readable, coherent letter (with a few spelling/grammar mistakes). What an improvement!


Last semester:


Dear sister

I�m writing from my classroom. my schoolmate and I on study now, but we�re think studying English is very easy not quite tired, and we�re think very happe we�re Englash teacher is young but she talk and Her brother compare she�s very old I think they�re confirm very fraternal do you think?

Tady weather is very good. but In fact, it�s morning very cold. Right now I�m looking out the window, it�s sunny crow and the spot dog.

The crow stop spot dog next, sunshine shine It on the feather more display black and spot dog lazy lie on the meadow enjoy tree sunshine, cost of very good rosy.

In fact my very helalth, I can good stady and enjoy tree day.

Ok see you sister.

This semester:

Dear sister

I�m writing from [city]. My classmates and I are at school right now. we are feeling very tired today, but we have very happy because we have a good teacher and I have a good homestay mother and father. I like my mother. She look after my life and makes me work hard.

The weather isn�t very good. In fact, It�s cold and cloudy right now. I�m looking at the school yard, and It�s windy. I can see a crow and some childen in the yard. The some childen are playing basketball. They are very happy they are having a good time, my classmates and I are having a good time.

The school have is very nice and beautiful and very big, At my school we have a library and dining room, At the supermarket we can shop.

I miss you.

Good lack. Thinking about you everyday!

Posted by polarcanuck at 5:24 p.m.

Add a comment (1 comments so far)



Comments:

shan - 2006-02-01 19:29:11
Obviously this young man has a very spot crow dog good sunshine teacher young. :) PS -- Our newest client is a Lucy Maude Montgomery conference. Fun hey!
-------------------------------